7 Opportunities In Moving House

I’ve moved house numerous times. We’re probably up to about 8 times in the last 10 years. You’d think we’d be sick of it by now wouldn’t you? Well, in reality we are. Twelve months ago we moved into a modest house that we were fortunate enough to purchase. Hopefully this will be the last move for a while.

two 3d humans carry a home in their hands

However, in moving house so much, whether its been a move overseas or simply from one rental to another there comes opportunity. The opportunity I’ve grasped with both hands each time we’ve moved is the ability to declutter and work toward a more sustainable liveable minimalism.

Living in the same place allows clutter to build up. After living in one place for 4 years it took weeks to box and tidy up and get ready to move to another rental unit. I can’t imagine what its like for those who’ve lived in the same house for 40 years! The clutter and the mess and the stuff just builds and builds.

In the last two moves we’ve been involved in The Wife and I have specifically spent time going through our clothes, DVDs, books, files, and more looking at what we can do away with or pass on to others. In doing so I’ve learnt this opportunity to enter into liveable minimalism has allowed:

  1. A greater realisation of what is important to me
  2. A sense of feeling liberated with less and less stuff crowding for my attention
  3. The ability to give to others and bless them
  4. More time for other activities around the home
  5. Less decisions needing to be made about what I’ll wear or where things should be stored
  6. More space around the house and in my life
  7. A financial saving

What did you find when you moved house? Was there a similar experience to me? 

3 thoughts on “7 Opportunities In Moving House

  1. I love your Blog…that being said, I have a nomination waiting for you on my Blog. I’ll leave it a surprise and ask you to go have a look. I hoe you will accept it….you truly deserve it. OH! btw….I had the container delivered today for my early (late) spring cleaning lol!!!!

Leave a Reply

