Morning Routines

After disseminating around one million blog posts on productivity the consensus is that having a morning routine gives you the best possible start to the day.

I agree. Sort of.

20140615-162453-59093084.jpg

It seems to me that different seasons means different routines.

When I was in my early twenties I could get up early, have some quiet time to myself, go and accomplish my exercise goals, and then make my way into work.

When I began a job that started early my routine changed so the first thing I did was have a shower, a quick breakfast, and then wander down the street to the “office”.

When I found myself working some nights I had to adjust and sleep-in a little more in the morning.

When I became a father for the first time I had to change again.

My hat is tipped to those who are disciplined enough to stick to their routine no matter what. You know those people? They’re the ones that head out for a late night session at the pub and then get up at 5am the next morning fresh and rearing to go. They’re the ones who have such a life that they’re into bed at 8:30pm and will accomplish their days goals by the time your alarm goes off.

If I ponder these things for too long it can get depressing. I want to be able to get up early and achieve those things too. Some days I do, but that’s probably when I’m in the office at 7:30am. Other days I just want to enjoy life a little more and sleep-in.

I realise there is much that can be done before breakfast, I wonder whether I’m simple being sucked into a culture that pushes us hard to “achieve” and be “successful”. Some days I probably should achieve more, but other days there needs to be room to gain perspective and spend time with family, do chores, and sit and read a book.

Leave a Reply

